Troop 48's
PUBLIC SITE
Home Page
Vision-Mission-Aims


 
Boy Scout Troop 48
(Edina, Minnesota)
 
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login
http://troop48edina.ScoutLander.com

  
 
Troop 48 - Edina
A BOY-LED, ADVENTURE-ORIENTED TROOP!
http://troop48edina.ScoutLander.com

Just the Right Size:


Troop 48 is a moderate-sized troop of approximately 35 boys. Because of our medium size and our boy led focus, the Troop strives to develop each boy individually. The Troop is supported by a dedicated group of trained scouters and parents. 


Collaborative Groups for Enriched Learning and Development:


Boys of all ages work together in patrols on advancement and in planning our many adventures.  After the first year, we mix the age of the boys in each Patrol and it has been a big success. The younger boys really enjoy being friends with and learning from the older boys in their patrols and the older boys enjoy mentoring the younger boys.


Adventure-based learning and growth:


We believe the best way for boys to develop leadership and wise decision-making skills is involvement in challenging activities including: 

  • White Water Canoeing
  • Rock climbing
  • Backpacking at various State Parks
  • Annual Klondike Derby with ice activities
  • 5, 10 and 20 mile hikes
  • Flying Airplanes
  • Service Activities including:  Eagle Projects, Ft Snelling Wreath Clean Up, Edina Day of Service & outside service work for Calvary Church.

High Adventure Treks for Older Scouts:  In addition to monthly camping activities, we understand older Scouts need more physically and mentally demand activities for growth.  To that end, we plan at least one high adventure trip per year including:

 

  • Boundary Waters Canoeing Treks
  • High adventure treks in Colorado, Utah and Vancouver BC
  • OK-PIK Dog Sledding in Northern MN
  • Backpacking Treks exceeding 70 miles at Philmont Scout Ranch in NM
  • Out-Island Camping/Fishing/Sailing in the Florida Keys at BSA Seabase

Meeting Location: Calvary Lutheran Church (our sponsor/Charter Organization), 6817 Antrim Rd, Edina, twice per month on Monday 7:00 – 8:15 p.m.

For more information, contact troop committee chair Tim Duffy at tsduffy@comcast.net 

2020-2021 TROOP EVENTS


September

·       Sunday, Sep 13:  PLC meeting

·       Monday, Sep 14:  Outdoor Troop Meeting with concurrent Parent Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church

·       Thursday, Sep 17:  School Night for Scouting – volunteering for cub scout recruiting

·       Friday-Sunday, Sep 18-20:  Canoeing and Camping – Rum River Scout Camp

·       Monday, Sep 28:  Virtual troop meeting 

October

·       Sunday, Oct 11:  PLC meeting 

·       Monday, Oct 12:  Outdoor Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church

·       Sunday, Oct 11:  Advancement Sunday (In-person versus virtual TBD)

·       Friday-Sunday Oct 23-25:  Camping, location TBD

·       Monday, Oct 26:  Virtual Troop meeting

·       Saturday, Oct 31: Service Project – Calvary Church fall cleanup

November

·       Monday, Nov 2:  Troop Meeting – location TBD

·       Monday, Nov 2:  Service Project – Voting setup, Calvary Lutheran Church

·       Saturday, Nov 7:  Troop Day Camp activity – Hiking, Location TBD

·       Sunday, Nov 15:  PLC meeting

·       Monday, Nov 16:  Virtual Troop meeting with concurrent Boards of Review

December

·       Sunday, Dec 6:  PLC Meeting

·       Monday, Dec 7:  Troop Meeting and Court of Honor – Calvary Lutheran Church

·       Saturday, Dec 19:  Salvation Army Bell Ringing

·       Monday, Dec 21:  Virtual Troop Meeting 

January

·       Sunday, Jan 10:  PLC Meeting

·       Monday, Jan 11:  Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church

·       Saturday, Jan 23:  Troop Day Camp activity – sledding at Phillipo Scout Camp

·       Monday, Jan 25:  Virtual Troop Meeting 

·       Thursday, Jan 28:  Pack 48 Crossover (Date Tentative)

February

·       Saturday, Feb 6:  Service Project – Fort Snelling Wreath Removal (Date Tentative)

·       Sunday, Feb 7:  PLC Meeting

·       Monday, Feb 8:  Troop Meeting and concurrent Parent Meeting for New Scout Parents

·       Friday-Sunday, Feb 19-21:  Tonkawa Lodge Camping, Stearns Scout Camp

·       Monday, Feb 22:  Virtual Troop Meeting

March

·       Sunday, March 7:  PLC Meeting 

·       Monday, March 8:  Troop Meeting – Calvary Lutheran Church

·       Saturday, March 13:  Troop Day Camping – Amazing Race theme or Taylors Falls bouldering theme, depending on weather and troop preferences

·       Monday, March 22:  Virtual Troop Meeting

April

·       Sunday, April 5:  PLC Meeting

·       Monday, April 5:  Troop Meeting

·       Sunday April 18:  Advancement Sunday

·       Monday, April 19:  Virtual Troop Meeting and Boards of Review 

·       Friday-Sunday, April 16-18:  Philmont Prep Campout, Afton State Park

·       Date TBD:  Service Project – Calvary Church Spring cleanup

May

·       Sunday, May 2:  PLC Meeting

·       Monday, May 3:  Troop Meeting and Court of Honor

·       Friday-Sunday May 14-16:  Philmont Prep Campout – North Shore Tettegouche State Park

·       Monday, May 17: Troop meeting and Many Point prep

June

·       Monday, June 14:  Final Troop Meeting, Many Point Prep and PLC Elections

·       Saturday-Tuesday, Jun 19 - July 1: Philmont Scout Reservation (Dates approximate)

July

·       Sunday-Saturday, July 18-24:  Many Point Scout Camp